Georgie Awards

We are excited to present a third annual tradition the Peabody Georgie Awards! Reflecting on the great work of our student community, we see this as a great way to close the year by recognizing those organizations, programs, and individuals that went above and beyond as it pertains to student engagement and leadership.

Click here to submit a nomination!

Deadline is 5/6/22



Nominations open to entire Peabody community


Last day to submit a nomination


Results published


Congratulations to our winners!


The following awards will be selected by the Georgie Awards Selection Committee:

  • Civic Engagement Award
  • Community Connectivity Award
  • Champion of Multiculturalism
  • Mental Health Ally Award
  • Emerging Student Organization of the Year
  • Outstanding Student Organization of the Year
  • Peabody Rising Star
  • Student Program of the Year

The following award will be selected by Dean Fred Bronstein:

  • Dean’s Award for Leadership

If you have questions about the award selection process or wish to be considered to sit on one of the selection committees, please email the Office of Student Affairs at

Award Descriptions

Georgies On The Move

Emerging Student Organization of the Year

This award recognizes an active newer student organization (of two years or less) that has shown admirable dedication to the Peabody community. They have demonstrated outstanding leadership and organization and have also made an effort to recruit new members. Their work should showcase their potential to stay active for many years.

Peabody Rising Star

This award recognizes a first or second-year student (undergraduate and/or graduate student) who has exemplified extraordinary character and initiative in the Peabody community.

Peabody Pillars

Civic Engagement

This award is given to an individual and/or student organization that exemplifies the tenets of a civically engaged member of the Peabody community. Focus should be given to the nominee’s work in promoting accessibility of the arts, efforts to define the role that art/artist’s play in an evolving society, and dedication to leveraging art as a tool for addressing societal issues – whether political, cultural, environmental, or other work that focuses on the common good.

Mental Health Ally

This award is given to an individual and/or student organization that works intentionally to raise awareness concerning the importance of mental health, eliminates stigmas surrounding mental illness, and encourages fellow peers to seek resources.

Community Connectivity

This award is given to an individual and/or student organization. The recipient of the award shall be one whose efforts are clearly set to strengthen community bonds within the Peabody community, and Hopkins network at large. Their work may be seen as an effort to create and maintain equitable representation, engagement, and recognition throughout all aspects of the student experience.

Peabody Paragons

Outstanding Student Leader

This award is given in recognition of an individual student who goes above and beyond to champion a unified, exemplary student experience academically, socially, and personally. This should be a student who outwardly unites, encourages, and advocates (for) their fellow colleagues. The recipient of this award is one who encompasses all the qualities needed to be an outstanding Paragon of a Peabody student, sure to contribute to the betterment of the Peabody, Johns Hopkins, and Baltimore communities.

Outstanding Student Organization of the Year

This award recognizes the group that has a positive influence on the student body and makes an outstanding contribution to the Peabody community. The organization has gone above and beyond to reach new students, program events, and make the Peabody community a better place.

Dean's Award for Leadership

This award is given to a deserving student who truly exemplifies what it means to lead. The recipient of this award is someone who is mindful, diligent, inclusive, action-oriented, strategic and always operates with integrity. The recipient is someone whom the Dean recognizes as having the true potential to positively impact the performing arts industry in their future career.

Champion of Multiculturalism

This award is given to an individual who celebrates and works to promote multicultural understanding and harmony in the arts through advocacy and/or educational events. They have a high level of respect for all facets of multiculturalism and have worked to make Peabody a more inclusive and celebrated space for all.

Student Program of the Year

This award is given in recognition of a highly received student-organized and led program. The program awarded exemplifies what fully inclusive and accessible programming should look like on campus.